Top 5 Tips For A Better Workout.

We all want to get maximum results in the gym in as little time as possible, so are we actually maximizing our time, or rather wasting it? Here are my top 5 tips for an optimal workout. These tips have obviously been tried and proven so make sure you take notes 😉 

  1. Time under tension. Now you my have heard of this before but that does not change the fact that this is one of the most common mistakes I see people making in the gym. I don’t really care that you can bang out 200 pounds for 10 reps, I would be so much more impressed if you would lower the weight, and do slow and controlled movements. The more time you spend under the bar, the more gainz are going to be made.
  2. proper form. I know, you have been told this from the moment you stepped in the gym, but have you actually listened to this advise? The most common type of injury I get from clients are ones that have come about through improper form. My advise to you, lower the weight right down and get the movement/form down packed. This will help prevent injury ten fold and also help you isolate the muscle more which in turn will give you more gainz in the least amount of time
  3. Going into the gym with a plan. Now this one is more common than you think. Time and time again I notice people that are just hopping around the machines, doing as much as they can, and then going onto the next machine that catches their eye. This may work for beginners as your muscles are getting used to being worked but if you have been working out for over a year, i suggest you set goals, and create a plan that is tailor to you reaching your goals
  4. Training  muscle too often. BIG mistake.Studies suggest that you should wait at least 48 hours after working out a specific muscle before destroying it again. I have also found this to be optimal for my clients and I as it gives your body time to rest and recover that muscle. If you don’t give the muscle time to rebuild, all you are doing is breaking down your body leading to injury. The muscles get bigger in the rest and recovery period, and are stimulated in the gym. Remember that. This brings me to my final point.
  5. Stimulating the muscle, not destroying it.  If you are waiting 48 hours to workout the muscle again then this is also something you should consider.  Destroying your muscle every time you hit a muscle group will almost guarantee you an injury. I have has many clients coming to me with this issue. When I talk about destroying the muscle I am talking about training to failure in every set you do.This may appear to be a good idea, but in the long run you are annihilating your body. I recommend doing one set to failure per muscle group. the rest should be done when you know you could get one or two more reps in. This is optimal for muscle growth.

If you found this information helpful please drop your boi a like and follow my blog as i am posting new science backed information every day. I you have any questions please email me as i would love to help 🙂 Cheers, Zak

Leave a Reply

